donut glaze (recipe)

Hi everyone! It’s been almost 3 months since my last update, so I’m back on here again to share a new recipe with you guys!.. although it’s somewhat vague of a recipe, lol.

On the weekend I was testing out some donut glaze recipes because I’ll be flying to LA soon to make the wedding cake and desserts for my brother’s big day (his fiancΓ©e and him asked for donuts, yes). Although they’re only looking to have two flavours, I made 4 in total just for fun! I know it’s crazy, considering the fact that I work full-time at a bakery and run Charming desserts on the side.. AND I’m also baking for fun? Lol.


The glaze on top is actually royal icing, and I will tell you now that I have a love/hate relationship with it. From my experience, no one recipe consistently works well. It’s either too thick for what you want to do with it, or it’s too runny. For donuts, you want the glaze to be thick enough so that there’s a nice coating on top. It’s best to start with a base recipe and gradually add water until the desired consistency. Depending on the flavour and ingredients you’ll be adding to the glaze, the amount of confectioner’s sugar and water will vary.


I can’t really give you the exact proportions I used for all 4 flavours, but I’ll provide a base recipe where you can work off of. If you find that the glaze is too thick, just add more water bit by bit. Conversely if the glaze is too runny and will cause a mess after dipping the donut into it, then it would be best to add more confectioner’s sugar until it’s a good thickness.

Royal icing (donut glaze)

1 large egg white
1 1/2 cups of confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar)
1 tbspn water

Whisk the above ingredients together with a hand whisk until everything has been combined (3-5min). Add desired food colouring and flavouring, and once again whisk together until homogeneous.

Leave a Reply

