green tea cookies (recipe)

On the past Friday evening, I invited my friends over for a dessert party. I made these cookies as part of the selection. Although I’ve had the teddy bear cookie cutter for a few years now, I didn’t get the chance to use it until now. Because green tea can be quite strong in taste, I wanted to balance out the bitterness with some sweetness from the chocolate and coconut flakes. The appearance ended up looking quite Japanese-ish, as with most the desserts that I make :D

My life’s been pretty hectic for the past week, since this is the busiest time at work. I also had Charming desserts and social gatherings to attend to. I’m completely deprived of sleep, but fortunately I only have one more cake to make, and then I’ll be able spend the entire boxing day just lounging around, haha.

Merry belated Christmas to those who celebrate, and happy holidays :D!

Recipe

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup green tea powder
pinch of salt

1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
3. Add the egg and mix until incorporated.
4. Gradually add the flour, green tea powder, and salt and mix until combined.
5. Flour your working station’s surface and roll the cookie dough until 1/4″ thick.
6. Bake for 15 minutes.
7. Allow cookies to cool before dipping into melted dark chocolate. Sprinkle coconut flakes on top.

2 thoughts on “green tea cookies (recipe)

Leave a Reply

