on people..

Oh haiii people ^^ I know I begin most of my posts with something along the lines of “it’s been a while since I last updated, etc etc”, and this one is no different. I have been meaning to write a heart-to-heart post for a few months now, but I never got to completing it.

What triggered me to get this post up asap was a quote I stumbled across on instagram a few days ago: “This time last year, everything was so different.” Now that I think about it, last October I was still in stupid happyland until a few weeks later when everything changed. I lost one of my best friends, my soulmate, my partner in crime. I never knew what happened, because somehow even with all those years, the truth eluded me. That was probably what created the most pain; the fact that I didn’t deserve his honesty. From time to time, I still think about asking for closure, but I know even if I did, it wouldn’t change a thing. I’ve accepted that some people are not meant to stay in our lives forever. They come teach us a lesson, and then they leave. I’ve absolutely come to terms with that. It’s unfortunate, but I wholeheartedly believe that everything happens for a reason. No amount of trying, can make people feel what they don’t or stay if they want to leave.

I’m not one to judge others on how they choose to live their lives, as long as they don’t try to force their ways onto me. I do whatever I want, whenever I want, with no intention of partaking in activities that don’t interest me. I have no problem saying ‘no’, and I’m unapologetic af. As we get older, the less we care about a lot of things, such as entertaining the negative people in our lives. With time, I’ve learned to appreciate those who matter most to me, and look pass the ones who don’t add any value.

Okay, let’s talk about social media, because that’s creating most of today’s problems. We put way too much emphasis on likes, comments, and followers. I mean, I would be lying if I told you I didn’t care at all, but I’ve definitely learned to care less over the years. Which was why I closed down my old blog + ig account even though I had quite a huge following. Now with this blog, I can just say whatever the hell I want and not worry about putting up a facade (not that I was ever subtle to begin with since my bluntness gained me some pretty nasty haters, lol). But what I’m getting at is that ‘fake popularity’ is not the same as genuine and deep connections with real, uh, people. The amount of time you share with people, and the quality, is what matters. The fact that they took time out of their schedule to spend it with you is what’s important, and is crucial in developing a strong connection. Not the number of likes, comments, nor followers. But anyway, this took me a few years to grasp so don’t be too hard on yourself.

Oh and if people decide to unfriend you on facebook or unfollow you on twitter or instagram, let it go. Try not to take it personally. Many people will add you onto facebook after meeting you just once, and then a few years later when they clean up their friends list and forget who you are, they may decide to unfriend you. I’ve been unfriended more times than I care to expose, lol. Mostly by people I met back in Korea and we no longer care about what’s going on in each others’ lives. As for instagram, I admit that I only follow whom I want and don’t follow those I don’t want. So basically whether people follow me or not, has no bearing as to whether I follow them. Heck I don’t even follow most of my friends (they probably think I’m an arrogant b!tch, lol). The truth is, I only follow those who inspire me (food, photography, travel) or those whom I care enough about to have their sh!t constantly pop up in my feed. I’ve even unfollowed some of my good friends because they weren’t active, haha. So this is what I mean by not taking social media too seriously.

So I ended up writing way more than I expected on just one topic, therefore I’m breaking this into a series of posts. This was originally titled “on people, aspirations, life, and love”, but I obviously wrote too much on the first topic so now I need to divide my posts up. Hopefully it won’t be long until my next update to this little heart-to-heart series, ha.

Save

Leave a Reply

