then and now

Hello everyone! I haven’t been updating my blog regularly as promised, but thank you for sticking around still :D Although shiawase days focuses more on photographs and recipes, I thought I’d write up a little something to let you know more about the author of this blog (me!).

As some of you may be aware, I work as a full-time head pastry chef and run Charming desserts on the side (although I’m temporarily not taking any orders since I’m on break; I’ll talk more about this later). Next week actually marks my one year anniversary in my current position, so I guess that inspired me to share my story and how I got to where I am today!

I actually graduated with a bachelor of commerce – I never attended pastry school. I’m sure that if you’re interested in baking and would like to learn new techniques/gain knowledge on the science of baking, pastry school will provide a great environment where you can connect with industry experts and acquire new skills. But I certainly don’t think you should think less of your credentials even if you haven’t had any formal training and whatnot. I used to be so particular about the title pastry chef because I believed that in order to earn that title, you must go through an intensive training process and pass a written exam. That you’re not a pastry chef just because you make desserts and you’re not a chef just because you cook at a restaurant. But you know what? I take on all the responsibilities as the role of a pastry chef, so why should I feel less than one? I’m becoming more comfortable with my employer introducing me as the head pastry chef now :)

One quote that I truly believe in — Luck is when preparation meets opportunity. When one door closes, another one opens up. It’s so important not to let your failures define you. If one of those doors didn’t close on me, I wouldn’t be where I am right now. It’s especially gratifying when others see greatness in you when you don’t even see it yourself. My employer actually reached out to me via my website. Never be afraid to share your talent or passion with the world, because you never know what opportunities lie beyond that screen. If people don’t know what you have to offer or that you even exist, then how are they supposed to discover you right? This applies to any passion you may have. YouTube is especially an effective platform for others to find out about you.


From when I first started baking as a hobby to today, it’s been 4 years. I’ve worked with people who have been in this industry for 10-25 years. You really don’t know how much you actually know or don’t know until you work with people who are doing the “same thing” as you do. Recently I’ve been asked, “How do you feel so confident about your baking? I want to be as confident as you.” This came from someone with much more experience than I do. I know this sounds cliché and all, but when you’re passionate about what you do, you’ll naturally exude a level of confidence that you may not even notice yourself, but others around you certainly do. If I didn’t live and breathe pastries, I would probably be somewhere else doing something different.

Onto why I’m taking a break from Charming desserts :) I apologize to those who haven’t been able to place any orders, but I will be back soon! Work’s been quite busy lately, and I find myself working 11 or 12 hours on some days. Eating healthy, going to the gym, spending time with family and friends, and fitting in Charming desserts’ orders – it just became too much for me. My life was very unbalanced and I felt tired all the time. It’s been one month since I’ve taken a break, and I can’t even begin to tell you how much the extra time helped with my sanity. I’m really glad I made the decision, though it doesn’t mean I’ve entirely neglected Charming desserts. I’m not-so-secretly coming up with new cakes for the menu..sshhh ;)

Hopefully my little story will inspire you to continue working on what you love to do. Keep the dream alive! Best of luck with what ever it is that you’re passionate about and never be afraid to share it with the world :)

One thought on “then and now

  1. Just came across this post, and I enjoyed reading about the person behind the blog! Your story is inspiring, and I do agree that one doesn’t need to be professional to be considered a “true” pastry chef. The way I see it, as long as one is passionate about and wants to put the time into doing so, then I don’t see why one can’t be considered a patissier. Great thoughts, and I look forward to more of your posts in the future- personal and pastry-related! :P

Leave a Reply

