persimon® parfait

I’ve always enjoyed eating persimmons since I was little, as my family loves them. We usually just eat it as is, whether it’s for an afternoon snack or an after dinner dessert. When Sandy introduced me to Persimon® from Spain, I took the opportunity to create a persimmon dessert for my parents to try. To be honest, I wasn’t aware of the possibilities when it came to cooking with persimmons, so I was excited to do this.

An interesting fact about Persimon® from Spain is that they’re always ready to eat, which means you don’t have to worry about letting them ripen first. How convenient, haha. They’re also only available in Canada until mid-January!

Being the dessert person that I am, I decided to, of course, stick to my forte. This is a simple recipe and the parfait consists of ginger snap cookies, persimon® cubes and whipped cream. Because I find whipped cream too plain, I added some vanilla bean paste to it. And yes, I drizzled some chocolate sauce on top since I love chocolate! I didn’t put too much though, since I didn’t want any component of the parfait to overpower the sweetness of the persimon.

+ additional facts

. from Ribera del Xúquer
. the only ones protected by a Designation of Origin which assures its quality
. a good source of vitamins A and C, plus potassium
. high in antioxidants

PS. For a chance to win 2 return tickets to Spain, enter contest here : http://persimonsays.com/contest

Recipe

Ingredients

4 tbspn (60ml) water
2 tbspn (30ml) navel oranges for zest (approx. 2 large size)
2 tbspn (30ml) caster or quick dissolving fine sugar
2 cups (500ml) Persimon® from Spain, stem removed and cut into 1/2 inch cubes (approx. 2-3)
1 cup (250ml) heavy cream (35%)
1 cup (250ml) ginger snap cookies, crumbled (approx. 16)

Directions

1. Place water, half the orange zest and sugar in a sauce pan over medium high heat and stir to dissolve the sugar. Add the Persimon® cubes and simmer on low heat for approximately 3 minutes. Set aside and let cool.

2. In a large bowl, whip the cream on high until soft peaks form, set aside.

3. To prepare, fill 8 parfait glasses with 1/4 cup of the ginger snap cookie crumbs. Spoon 2 tbspn of the Persimon® mixture into each glass over the cookie layer and top with the whipped cream. Sprinkle with remaining orange zest. Chill before serving.

:: recipe from http://persimonsays.com

One thought on “persimon® parfait

Leave a Reply

